MythologyMythologyDocumentariesFestivalspersonswarsBeutiful HellasArtFun
Εμφάνιση αναρτήσεων με ετικέτα ItalySites. Εμφάνιση όλων των αναρτήσεων
Εμφάνιση αναρτήσεων με ετικέτα ItalySites. Εμφάνιση όλων των αναρτήσεων

17.4.17

Metapontum, Italy

Metaponto is a small town of about 1,000 people in the province of Matera, Basilicata, Italy. Administratively it is a frazione of Bernalda.

Metaponto is located by the Ionian Coast on the road linking Potenza and Matera with Taranto. It is composed by the main village and Metaponto Lido, the beach area. Between them there are located the ruins of Metapontum and the railway station.

The town was built by the ancient Greeks to defend Sybaris from the growth of Taranto. A 1 km stretch of beach with white powdery sand is a further tourist attraction.

Together with the neighbour Policoro (formerly known as Siris-Heraklea) and the apulian Taranto, Metaponto was one of the most important cities of Great Greece (Megale Hellas or Magna Grecia) starting from VI century a.C. and an active center of agricultural and ceramic production, as well a cultural center where Pythagoras moved his philosophical school in 532 B.C., which remained active for about two centuries after his death in 490 b.C.
An oenochoe (wine jug) found near Metapontum.

It was also a theatre of epic battles like that of Pyrrhus (280 b.C.) and Hannibal (207 B.C.) with their elefants against the Romans. Its splendor is still witnessed from the archaeological area.

Metapontum or Metapontium (Ancient Greek: Μεταπόντιον Metapontion) was an important city of Magna Graecia, situated on the gulf of Tarentum, between the river Bradanus and the Casuentus (modern Basento). It was distant about 20 km from Heraclea and 40 from Tarentum. The ruins of Metapontum are located in the frazione of Metaponto, in the comune of Bernalda, in the Province of Matera, Basilicata region, Italy.
Greek Head Of Apollo Made Of Marble,  Around Matera - Metaponto National Archeological Museum

Though Metapontum was an ancient Greek Achaean colony, various traditions assigned to it a much earlier origin. Strabo ascribes its foundation to a body of Pylians, a part of those who had followed Nestor to Troy; while Justin tells us it was founded by Epeius, the hero who constructed the wooden horse at Troy; in proof of which the inhabitants showed, in a temple of Minerva, the tools used by him on that occasion. Another tradition, reported by Ephorus, assigned to it a Phocian origin, and called Daulius, the tyrant of Crisa near Delphi, its founder. Other legends carried back its origin to a still more remote period. Antiochus of Syracuse said that it was originally called Metabus, from a hero of that name, who appears to have been identified with the Metapontus who figured in the Greek mythical story as the husband of Melanippe and father of Aeolus and Boeotus.
Greek Funeral Dowry Hydria,  Around Matera - Metaponto National Archeological Museum

History
Whether there may have really been a settlement on the spot more ancient than the Achaean colony, is impossible to be determined . It is known that at the time of the foundation of this city the site was unoccupied; the Achaean settlers at Crotona and Sybaris were therefore desirous to colonize it, in order to prevent the Tarentines from taking possession of it. With this view a colony was sent from the mother-country, under the command of a leader named Leucippus, who, according to one account, was compelled to obtain the territory by a fraudulent treaty. Another and a more plausible statement is that the new colonists were at first engaged in a contest with the Tarentines, as well as the neighbouring tribes of the Oenotrians, which was at length terminated by a treaty, leaving them in the peaceable possession of the territory they had acquired. The date of the colonization of Metapontum cannot be determined with certainty; but it was evidently, from the circumstances just related, subsequent to that of Tarentum, as well as of Sybaris and Crotona: hence the date assigned by Eusebius, who would carry it back as far as 774 BCE, is wholly untenable; nor is it easy to see how such an error can have arisen. It may probably be referred to about 700-690 BCE.
Detail of the capital,  Around Matera - Metaponto National Archeological Museum
There are very few mentions of Metapontum during the first ages of its existence; however, it seems certain that it rose rapidly to a considerable amount of prosperity, for which it was indebted to the extreme fertility of its territory. The same policy which had led to its foundation would naturally unite it in the bonds of a close alliance with the other Achaean cities, Sybaris and Crotona; and the first occasion on which we meet with its name in history is as joining with these two cities in a league against Siris, with the view of expelling the Ionian colonists of that city.
Temple of Athena,Around Matera - Metaponto
The war seems to have ended in the capture and destruction of Siris, but our account of it is very obscure, and the period at which it took place very uncertain. It does not appear that Metapontum took any part in the war between Crotona and Sybaris, which ended in the destruction of the latter city; but its name is frequently mentioned in connection with the changes introduced by Pythagoras, and the troubles consequent upon them. Metapontum, indeed, appears to have been one of the cities where the doctrines and sect of that philosopher obtained the firmest footing. 
Greek Crown made of Gold Ivory and Bronze

Even when the Pythagoreans were expelled from Crotona, they maintained themselves at Metapontum, whither the philosopher himself retired, and where he ended his days. The Metapontines paid the greatest respect to his memory; they consecrated the house in which he had lived as a temple to Ceres, and gave to the street in which it was situated the name of the Museum. His tomb was still shown there in the days of Cicero. The Metapontines were afterwards called in as mediators to appease the troubles which had arisen at Crotona; and appear, therefore, to have suffered comparatively little themselves from civil dissensions arising from this source.
Birth of Helen From The Egg, Metaponto National Archeological Museum

At the time of the Athenian expedition to Sicily, 415 BCE, the Metapontines at first, like the other states of Magna Graecia, endeavoured to maintain a strict neutrality; but in the following year were induced to enter into an alliance with Athens, and furnish a small auxiliary force to the armament under Demosthenes and Eurymedon. It seems clear that Metapontum was at this time a flourishing and opulent city. From its position it was secured from the attacks of Dionysius of Syracuse; and though it must have been endangered in common with the other Greek cities by the advancing power of the Lucanians, it does not appear to have taken any prominent part in the wars with that people, and probably suffered but little from their attacks. Its name is again mentioned in 345 BCE, when Timoleon touched there on his expedition to Sicily, but it does not appear to have taken any part in his favour. In 332 BCE, when Alexander, king of Epirus, crossed over into Italy at the invitation of the Tarentines, the Metapontines were among the first to conclude an alliance with that monarch, and support him in his wars against the Lucanians and Bruttians. Hence, after his defeat and death at Pandosia, 326 BCE, it was to Metapontum that his remains were sent for interment. But some years later, 303 BCE, when Cleonymus of Sparta was in his turn invited by the Tarentines, the Metapontines, for what reason we know not, pursued a different policy, and incurred the resentment of that leader, who, in consequence, turned his own arms, as well as those of the Lucanians, against them. He was then admitted into the city on friendly terms, but nevertheless exacted from them a large sum of money, and committed various other excesses. It is evident that Metapontum was at this period still wealthy; but its citizens had apparently, like their neighbors the Tarentines, fallen into a state of slothfulness and luxury, so that they were become almost proverbial for their lack of vigor.

It seems certain that the Metapontines, as well as the Tarentines, lent an active support to Pyrrhus, when that monarch came over to Italy; however, they are not mentioned during his wars there, nor it is known the precise period at which they passed under the yoke of Rome. Their name is, however, again mentioned repeatedly in the Second Punic War. They were among the first to declare in favor of Hannibal after the battle of Cannae; but notwithstanding this, their city was occupied by a Roman garrison some years later, and it was not until after the capture of Tarentum, in 212 BCE, that they were able to rid themselves of this force and openly espouse the Carthaginian cause. Hannibal now occupied Metapontum with a Carthaginian garrison, and seems to have made it one of his principal places of deposit, until the fatal battle of the Metaurus having compelled him to give up the possession of this part of Italy, 207 BCE, he withdrew his forces from Metapontum, and, at the same time, removed from thence all the inhabitants in order to save them from the vengeance of Rome.

From this time the name of Metapontum does not again appear prominently in classical history; and it seems certain that it never recovered from the blow thus inflicted on it. But it did not altogether cease to exist; for its name is found in Pomponius Mela who does not notice any extinct places; and Cicero speaks of visiting it in terms that show it was still a town. That orator, however, elsewhere alludes to the cities of Magna Graecia as being in his day sunk into almost complete decay; Strabo says the same thing, and Pausanias tells that Metapontum in particular was in his time completely in ruins, and nothing remained of it but the theatre and the circuit of its walls. Hence, though the name is still found in Ptolemy, and the ager Metapontinus is noticed in the Liber Coloniarum (p. 262), all trace of the city subsequently disappears, and it is not even noticed in the Antonine Itineraries where they give the line of route along the coast from Tarentum to Thurii. The site was probably already subject to malaria, and from the same cause has remained desolate ever since.
Though Metapontum is mentioned less than of Sybaris, Crotona, and Tarentum, yet all accounts agree in representing it as, in the days of its prosperity, one of the most opulent and flourishing of the cities of Magna Graecia. The fertility of its territory, especially in the growth of corn, vied with the neighbouring district of the Siritis. It is known that the Metapontines sent to the temple at Delphi an offering of a golden harvest, perhaps referring to a sheaf or bundle of corn wrought in gold. For the same reason an ear of corn became the characteristic symbol on their coins, the number and variety of which in itself sufficiently attests the wealth of the city. They had a treasury of their own at Olympia still existing in the days of Pausanias. Herodotus tells that they paid particular honors to Aristeas, who was said to have appeared in their city 340 years after he had disappeared from Cyzicus. They erected to him a statue in the middle of the forum, with an altar to Apollo surrounded by a grove of laurels. From their coins they would appear also to have paid heroic honours to Leucippus, as the founder of their city. Strabo tells, as a proof of their Pylian origin, that they continued to perform sacrifices to the Neleidae.

The site and remains of Metapontum have been carefully examined by the Duc de Luynes, who has illustrated them in a special work. No trace exists of the ancient walls or the theatre of which Pausanias speaks. 
The most important of the still existing buildings is a temple, the remains of which occupy a slight elevation near the right bank of the Bradanus, about 3 km from its mouth. 
They are now known as the Tavola dei Paladini. Fifteen columns are still standing, ten on one side and five on the other; but the two ends, as well as the whole of the entablature above the architrave and the walls of the cella, have wholly disappeared. 
The architecture is of the Doric order, but its proportions are lighter and more slender than those of the celebrated temples of Paestum: and it is in all probability of later date. Some remains of another temple, but prostrate, and a mere heap of ruins, are visible nearly 3 km to the south of the preceding, and a short distance from the mouth of the Bradanus. 

This spot, called the Chiesa di Sansone, appears to mark the site of the city itself, numerous foundations of buildings having been discovered all around it. It may be doubted whether the more distant temple was ever included within the walls; but it is impossible now to trace the extent of the ancient city. 
Enotrian Ceramic, Around Matera - Metaponto National Archeological Museum

The Torre di Mare, now the only inhabited spot on the plain, derives its name from a castellated edifice of the Middle Ages; it is situated 2.5 km from the sea, and the same distance from the river Basiento, the ancient Casuentus. Immediately opposite to it, on the sea-shore, is a small salt-water basin or lagoon, now called the Lago di Santa Pelagina, which, though neither deep nor spacious, in all probability formed the ancient port of Metapontum.

Metapontum was thus situated between the two rivers Bradanus and Casuentus (Basento), and occupied (with its port and appurtenances) a considerable part of the intermediate space. Appian speaks of a river between Metapontum and Tarentum of the same name, by which he probably means the Bradanus, which may have been commonly known as the river of Metapontum. This is certainly the only river large enough to answer to the description which he gives of the meeting of Octavian and Antony which took place on its banks.

Coinage

The coins of Metapontum, as already observed, are very numerous; and many of the later ones of very beautiful workmanship. 
Ancient Greek coins in Palazzo Blu (Pisa)

Those of more ancient date, like the early coins of Crotona and Sybaris, have an incuse fabric; that is to say that the relief design of the obverse is repeated intaglio on the reverse. 

Some have speculated that this feature was devised by Pythagoras. The die axes are always aligned.
Silver Drachm, Metapontum 465-440 BC. Six grained ear, META r., murex slanting diagonally l. Rutter 1485. (7.98 g)
Silver Drachm, Metapontum 465-440 BC. Six grained ear, META r., murex slanting diagonally l. Rutter 1485. (7.98 g)
Silver Drachm, Metapontum. 340-330 BC. bearded hd Leucippus w Corinthian helmet, sitting dog (Molossian hound?) behind. 
Silver Drachm, Metapontum 465-440 BC. Six grained ear, META r., murex slanting diagonally l. Rutter 1485. (7.98 g) 

The more common type on later obverses is the head of Ceres but in the mid-late 4th century BCE, the head of the hero Leucippus, the reputed founder of the city appears for the first time. This is thought to be related to the expedition of Alexander I of Epirus to Southern Italy.

Source/Photography/Bibliography
OCD s.v. Metapontum
Antioch. ap. Strabo l. c.; Gaius Julius Hyginus Fabulae 186; Eustath. ad Dionys. Per. 368; 
Eusebius Arm. Chron. p. 99.)
Iambl. Vit. Pyth. 170, 249, 266; Porphyr. Vit. Pyth. 56, 57; Plut. de Gen. Socr. 13; Diog. 
Diodorus
Thucydides
Justin
Plut. Apophth. Lac. p. 233.
Livy xxii. 61.
Cicero de Fin. v. 2; see also Appian, B.C. v. 93.
Cicero de Amic. 4; Strabo vi. p. 262; Pausanias vi. 19. § 11.
James Millingen, Numismatique de l'Italie, p. 22.
Pausanias vi. 19. § 11; Athen. xi. p. 479.
Herod. iv. 15 ; Athen. xiii. p. 605, c.
Millingen, l. c. p. 24.
Strabo.
Métaponte, fol. Paris, 1833.
Appian, B.C. v. 93, 94.
Kraay, Colin M. (1976) Archaic and Classical Greek Coins Sanford J. Durst
Rutter, N.K. (2001). ed Historia Numorum: Italy, The Trustees of the British Museum. 
 This article incorporates text from a publication now in the public domain: Smith, William, ed. (1854–1857).  Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography. London: John Murray.
Carter, Joseph Coleman, ed. (1998). The Chora of Metaponto: The Necropoleis. Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press. 
Bökönyi, Sándor; Gál, Erika (2010). Bartosiewicz, László, ed. The Chora of Metaponto 2: Archaeozoology at Pantanello and Five Other Sites. Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press. 
Carter, Joseph Coleman; Prieto, Alberto, eds. (2011). The Chora of Metaponto 3: Archaeological Survey—Bradano to Basento. 1. Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press. ISBN 978-0-292-72678-9.
Lapadula, Erminia (2012). Carter, Joseph Coleman, ed. The Chora of Metaponto 4: The Late Roman Farmhouse at San Biagio. Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press. ISBN 978-0-292-72877-6.

25.2.17

Reggio Calabria, Italy

Reggio di Calabria, Sicilian-Calabrian dialect: Rìggiu, Italic-Greek of Bovesia: Righi, Ancient Greek: Ῥήγιον, Rhḗgion, Latin: Rhēgium), commonly known as Reggio Calabria About this sound listen (help·info) or simply Reggio in Southern Italy, is the biggest city and the most populated comune of Calabria, Southern Italy. It is the capital of the Metropolitan City of Reggio Calabria and the seat of the Regional Council of Calabria.

Reggio is located on the "toe" of the Italian Peninsula and is separated from the island of Sicily by the Strait of Messina. It is situated on the slopes of the Aspromonte, a long, craggy mountain range that runs up through the center of the region. The third economic center of mainland Southern Italy, the city proper has a population of more than 200,000 inhabitants spread over 236 square kilometres (91 sq mi), while the fast-growing urban area numbers 260,000 inhabitants. About 560,000 people live in the metropolitan area, recognised in 2015 by Italian Republic as a metropolitan city.

As a major functional pole in the region, it has strong historical, cultural and economic ties with the city of Messina, which lies across the strait in Sicily, forming a metro city of less than 1 million people.

Reggio is the oldest city in the region, and despite its ancient foundation – Ρηγιον was an important and flourishing colony of Magna Graecia – it has a modern urban system, set up after the catastrophic earthquake on 28 December 1908, which destroyed most of the city. The region has been subject to earthquakes.

It is a major economic center for regional services and transport on the southern shores of the Mediterranean. Reggio, with Naples and Taranto, is home to one of the most important archaeological museums, the prestigious National Archaeological Museum of Magna Græcia, dedicated to Ancient Greece (which houses the Bronzes of Riace, rare example of Greek bronze sculpture, which became one of the symbols of the city). Reggio is the seat, since 1907, of the Archeological Superintendence of Bruttium and Lucania. The city has two recently founded universities: the "Mediterranea" University, and the "Università per Stranieri" (University for Foreigners). There are also an Academy of Fine Arts (opened in 1967) and a Conservatory of Music (founded 1927).

The city center, consisting primarily of Liberty buildings, has a linear development along the coast with parallel streets, and the promenade is dotted with rare magnolias and exotic palms. Reggio has commonly used popular nicknames: The "city of Bronzes", after the Bronzes of Riace that are testimonials of its Greek origins; the "city of bergamot", which is exclusively cultivated in the region; and the "city of Fatamorgana", an optical phenomenon visible in Italy only from the Reggio seaside.

The city was an Italian candidate to become the European Capital of Culture. in 2019.



Το Ρήγιο βρίσκεται στον Πορθμό της Μεσσήνης, ο οποίος χωρίζει την Ιταλία από τη Σικελία. Ακριβώς Β του Ρήγιου, το πλοίο στο οποίο επέβαινε ο Παύλος έπρεπε να περάσει από το ακρωτήριο της Σκύλλας, που βρισκόταν στον πορθμό από τη μεριά της Ιταλίας, και από το θαλάσσιο στρόβιλο της Χάρυβδης από τη μεριά της Σικελίας, σημεία που οι αρχαίοι ναυτικοί θεωρούσαν επικίνδυνα. 

Μία ημέρα μετά την άφιξή τους στο Ρήγιο, σηκώθηκε νότιος άνεμος ο οποίος τους βοήθησε να περάσουν με ασφάλεια τον πορθμό και να κινηθούν ΒΒΔ προς τους Ποτιόλους.—Πρ 28:13.

History
From the late 3rd millennium BC onwards until the 8th century BC the city was inhabited by peoples such as the Osci (sometimes referred to as Opici), Phoenicians, Trojans, Mycenaeans and Achæans, then by Oenotrians, Ligures, Ausones, Mamertines, Taureanes, Sicels, Morgeti and Itali. The sculptor Léarchos was at Reggio at the end of the 15th century BC, and one Iokastos appears on its coinage at the beginning of the 13th century BC. The land around Reggio was first known as Saturnia, or Neptunia, and later Italia, which in Roman times became the name of the whole Italian peninsula. In those days however, it corresponded only to present-day, southern Calabria, which later came to be known as Bruttium, while the name Italia (Italy), in fact, was first used only for the area of Reggio itself.

After Cumae, Reggio is one of the oldest Greek colonies in southern Italy. The colony was settled by the inhabitants of Chalcis in 730 or 743 BC on the site of the older settlement, Erythrà (Ερυθρά), meaning "the Red one". This dated back to the 3rd millennium BC and was perhaps established by the Ausones. The last Ausonian ruler was king Italós, from whom the name of Italy is derived. King Iokastos is buried on the Punta Calamizzi promontory, called "Pallantiòn", where Greek settlers later arrived. The colony retained the earlier name of "Rhégion" (Ρήγιoν).

Under Greek rule, Reggio became a Polis of Magna Græcia and an ally of Athens; it was also first an ally and then an enemy of nearby Locri. Rhégion was governed by the Messenians, from 737 to 461 BC; by Syracuse from 387 to 351 BC, when it was known as Phœbèa and subsequently by the Campanians but between the 5th–3rd centuries BC, from time to time, it was also a republic. Reggio was one of the most important cities in Greater Greece, reaching great economic and political power during the 5th and 6th centuries BC under the Anaxilas government. Anaxilas allowed Reggio to rule over all the Messina Strait, including Zancle (modern Messina). Rhegion later allied with Athens during the Peloponnesian War until 387 BC when the city was taken by the Syracusans.
Χάλκινο άγαλμα ήρωα από τη θάλασσα κοντά στο Riace της Καλαβρίας, 440-430 π.Χ. Ρήγιο Καλαβρίας, Museo Nazionale.

Το Ρήγιο ήταν από τις σημαντικότερες πόλεις της Μεγάλης Ελλάδας, φτάνοντας σε μεγάλη οικονομική και πολιτική ισχύ κατά την διάρκεια του 6ου και του 5ου αιώνα π.Χ. 

Throughout classical antiquity Rhégion remained an important maritime and commercial city as well as a cultural centre as is demonstrated by the presence of academies of art, philosophy and science, such as the Pythagorean School and also by its well-known poet, Íbykos, the historian, Ippys, the musicologist, Glaúkos and the sculptors Pythagóras and Kléarkhos.

About the time of the birth of Christ, the famous geographer and historian Strabo described Reggio as an "illustrious city". Many items of archaeological interest from this Hellenic era have been retrieved and are displayed in various places locally.

Under the Greek rule, the former Italic culture was amalgamated into the Hellenic before disappearing altogether.

As an independent city since 271 BC Regium was an important ally and "socia navalis" of Rome. During the Imperial age it became one of the most important and flourishing cities of southern Italy when it was the seat of the "Corrector", the Governor of "Regio II Lucania et Bruttii" (province of Lucany and Brutium). During the Roman Empire it was elected a Municipium and named "Rhegium Julium" as a noble Roman city. It was a central pivot for both maritime and mainland traffic, reached by the final part of the Via Popilia (also known as Via Annia), which was built in the 2nd century BC and joined the older, Via Appia at Capua, south of Rome. Close to Reggio, on the Straits of Messina, was the busy port of Columna Rhegina. Rhegium boasted in imperial times, nine thermal baths, one of which is still visible today on the sea-front. During the whole Latin age Reggio maintained not only its Greek customs and language but also its Mint.

Τετράδραχμο του Ρήγιου, 415-387 π.Χ.

In 61 AD the apostle St. Paul passed through Rhegium on his final voyage towards Rome,converting the first local Christians and, according to tradition, laying the foundations of the Christianization of Bruttium. Due to its seismic activity, the Reggio area was often damaged by earthquakes, such as in 91 BC, when it was destroyed but then was rebuilt by order of the Emperor Augustus. Other memorable shocks took place in the years 17, 305 and 374 AD.

Invasions by the Vandals, the Lombards and the Goths occurred in the 5th- 6th centuries, and then, under Byzantine rule, Reggio became, a Metropoli of the Byzantine possessions in Italy and several times between 536 and 1060 AD was also the capital of the Duchy of Calabria.

Following wars between the Lombards and Byzantines in the 6th century, present-day Calabria, then known as Bruttium, was renamed Calabria.
As Reggio was a Byzantine centre of culture, certain monks undertook the work of scribes and carried out the transcription of ancient classical works. Until the 15th century Reggio was one of the most important Greek-rite.

Bishoprics in Italy and even today Greek words are used and are recognisable in local speech and Byzantine terms can be found in local liturgy, in religious icons and even in local recipes.
Η Μεσσήνη στο βάθος από την παραλία του Ρηγίου 



Numerous occupying armies came to Reggio during the early Middle Ages due to the city's strategic importance. The Arabs occupied Reggio in 918 and sold most of it inhabitants into slavery.For brief periods in the 10th–11th centuries the city was ruled by the Arabs and, renamed Rivàh (or sometimes Rŷu), became part of the Emirate of Sicily.

Εικ. 1. Άποψη του Ρέτζιο Καλάμπρια, το αρχαίο Ρήγιο, στην Ιταλία. Εικ. 2. Άποψη της Σκύλλα, πόλη στην Καλαβρία της Ιταλίας. Εικ. 3. Πύργος στην Καλαβρία.

During the period of Arab rule various beneficial ideas were introduced into Calabria, such as Citrus fruit trees, Mulberry trees (used in silk production) and several ways of cooking local vegetables such as aubergines. The Arabs introduced water ices and ice cream and also greatly improved agricultural and hydraulic techniques for irrigation.

In 1060 the Normans, under Robert Guiscard and Roger I of Sicily, captured Reggio but Greek cultural and religious elements persisted until the 17th century. In 1194 Reggio and the whole southern Italy went to the Hohenstaufen, who would hold it until 1266. In 1234 the town fair was established by decree of Emperor Frederick II.
From 1266 it was ruled by the Angevins, under whom life in Calabria deteriorated because of the their tendency to accumulate wealth in their capital, Naples, leaving Calabria in the power of local Barons.In 1282, during the Sicilian Vespers, Reggio rallied in support of Messina and the other oriental Sicily cities because of the shared history, commercial and cultural interests. From 1147 to 1443 and again from 1465 to 1582, Reggio was the capital of the Calabrian Giustizierato. It supported the Aragonese forces against the House of Anjou. In the 14th century it obtained new administrative powers. In 1459 the Aragonese enlarged its medieval castle.

Reggio, throughout the Middle Ages, was first an important centre of calligraphy and then of printing after its inventions, boasting the first dated printed edition of a Hebrew, a Rashi commentary on the Pentateuch, printed in 1475 in La Giudecca of Reggio although scholars consider Rome as the city where Hebrew printing began. The Jewish Community was also considered to be among the foremost internationally, for the dyeing and the trading of silk: silk woven in Reggio was esteemed and bought by the Spaniards, the Genoese, the Dutch, the English and the Venetians, as it was recognised as the best silk in the Kingdom of Naples

From the early 16th century, the Kingdom of Naples was under the Habsburgs of Spain, who put Reggio undet a viceroy from 1504 to 1713. The 16th and 17th centuries were an age of decay due to high Spanish taxes, pestilence, the 1562 earthquake, and the Ottoman Turkish invasions suffered by Reggio between 1534 and 1594. In 1534, facing attack by an Ottoman fleet under Hayreddin Barbarossa the townspeople abandoned Reggio. Barbarossa captured eight hundred of those who remained, and then burned the town. After Barbary pirates attacked Reggio in 1558, they took most of its inhabitants as slaves to Tripoli.

In 1714 southern Italy became once more property of the Austrian Habsburgs who remained until 1734, when they were replaced by the Bourbons of Spain. Reggio was the capital of Calabria Ulteriore Prima from 1759 to 1860. In 1783, a disastrous earthquake damaged Reggio, all southern Calabria and Messina.

The precious citrus fruit, Bergamot orange, had been cultivated and used in the Reggio area since the 15th century. By 1750 it was being grown intensively in the Rada Giunchi area of Reggio and was the first plantation of its kind in the world.

In 1783 Reggio was again razed to the ground by an earthquake which was felt all over southern Calabria. The Bourbon government hastaned to rebuilt the city, even expropriating religious properties to increase funds, and profoundly altering the urban aspect of the city, giving the present-day layout of straight, intersecting roads planned by Giovambattista Mori in 1784.

In 1806, Napoleon Bonaparte took Reggio and made the city a Duchy and General Headquarters. After the former's fall, in 1816, the two ancient Kingdoms of Naples and of Sicily were unified becoming the Kingdom of Two Sicilies.

During the course of 19th century new public gardens were laid out, the piazzas (or squares) were embellished and cafés and a theatre were opened. On the newly opened sea promenade a Civic Museum was inaugurated. In fact some 60 years after the devastation caused by the 1783 earthquake, the English traveller and painter Edward Lear remarked "Reggio is indeed one vast garden, and doubtless one of the loveliest spots to be seen on earth. A half-ruined castle, beautiful in colour and picturesque in form, overlooks all the long city, the wide straits, and snow-topped Mongibello beyond.

The archaeological park of the Greek walls 
On the seafront Lungomare Falcomatà, in relation to Piazza Camagna, you can admire the longest part of the Greek city walls of Reggio.
 

The walls are surrounded by ironwork rails and a gate, all in wrought iron.  From a historic point of view, we have to look at these parts of the city walls called “Greek” as actually a part of the city walls that had always existed up to the earthquake of 1783. Restored many times to face the ravages of time and to keep up with the techniques used by potential attackers which became ever more sophisticated. With regard to the structure, the walls, built using bricks of which there has remained almost no trace, were built on foundations in local stone with numerous quarry marks.
The walls were constructed with a two curtain technique; in the lower part due to the shortage of hard local stone, the walls were built using blocks of local sandstone perhaps found in the Annunziata river. These were positioned in two parallel lines with perpendicular stretches. The empty space between the walls was filled with soil and rubble and on the base of these solid walls the real external walls were raised using bricks.
The part remaining today is of extreme interest as it shows a stretch of walls where the western part creates a corner, moving to the east, and in this way closes the southern part of the city’s protective wall.
We are uncertain to the exact date of construction: Guzzo has established that together with the bricks fragments of ceramic have been found but even these after analysis still leave an ample window of time open, the current hypothesis is that the walls were build after mid 4th century BC, when Dionisio rebuilt the city of Reggio, then called Febea, the city of Febo Apollo. The city’s archaeologists hypothesise that in the city walls surrounding Reggio the bricks in the raw walls date back to the tyrant Anassila (5th centry BC) while those fired bricks are to be attributed to the period of the tyrant Dionisio II, who was in Reggio only between 356 and 351 BC, when it was raided and the liberty of the city population was returned.
Other scholars think however that the walls as we know them today date back to the end of the 4th century BC explaining the work under Dionisio II, the Repubblica Reggina (Reggina republic) and King Agatocle.
A recent restoration project has not improved the usability of the Greek walls even though their structure has been consolidated.

The Necropolis Reggine from the Greek age 
We only have a fragmented knowledge of the Reggine Necropolis. Except for some Archaic remains discovered in the necropolis of S. Caterina, the Archaic and classical tombs of the city are almost unknown while those of the Hellenistic Greek – Roman period are much better documented.
Other than the surburban necropolises ( therefore located against the city walls) to the south (in the area of S. Giorgio Extra) and to the north (the so called necropolis of S. Lucia – Museum), we also know of some out of town necropolises which served the smaller communities which were positioned around the Rhegion hub. Among these out of town necropolises there is one on the Pentimele hills in the area of S. Caterina – Port, to the east one relative to the Borrace Barraks and Condera, while to the south that of Modena, etrillina, S.Francesco and Ravagnese.

In the necropolis Reggine both incineration and burial were practised. The burial structure shows certain examples which are quite unusual. Signs that local artisans built large, sumptuous tombs with brickwork and also simpler chapel styles, with covered semicircular structures finished in brick with tiled roofs, to the simplest individual tombs which opened in “book” style and were created by placing tiles one on top of the other to create the cover.

The majority of the Hellenistic tombs (4th – 2nd Century BC) have shown poor examples of funeral accessories, the majority of which have given no more than simple locally produced aromatic containers.
The male tombs are often characterised by the presence of a strigile while in female tombs we often find bronze mirrors, vases and make-up / jewellery holders. From small containers with lead lids and in more rare cases actual jewellery such as earrings and rings.
We have frequently discovered artificial alabaster containers, cheaper solutions to the similar containers in oriental alabaster which often had a  disk shaped base one over the other with three indentations cut into the disk to obtain three supports.
Another characteristic of Reggine tombs is the thin disk of gold (bractea) with a pearl design on the edges and a figure in the centre which can be found between the teeth of the corpse.  This could be considered to be a traditional “oboli di Caronte” that accompanied the Greeks in their final voyage.

Timeline of Reggio Calabria
8th century BCE - Reghion established by Chalcidian Greeks.
386 BCE - Town sacked by forces of Dionysius I of Syracuse.
91 BCE - Earthquake.(it)
89 BCE - Rhegium becomes a Roman municipium.
17 CE - Earthquake.(it)
362 CE - Earthquake.(it)
410 CE - Reggio sacked by forces of Alaric.
458 - Reggio taken by forces of Totila.
550 - Roman Catholic diocese of Reggio Calabria established (approximate date).
950 - Reggio taken by Muslim forces.
1059 - Reggio taken by Norman forces.
1783 - Earthquake.
1806 - Administrative Distretto di Reggio (it) established.
1818 - Regia Biblioteca Ferdinandiana (library) established.
Real Teatro Borbonio (theatre) opens.
1852 - Archivio di Calabria Ultra Prima (archives) opens.
1860 21 August: Battle of Piazza Duomo (it); Garibaldian forces win.
Circondario di Reggio di Calabria (it) (administrative region) established.
1866 - Railway station opens; Reggio Calabria - Lazzaro railway begins operating.
1884 - Garibaldi monument erected in the Piazza Garibaldi (Reggio Calabria) (it).
1894 - Calabria earthquake of 1894 (it).
1895 - Battipaglia–Reggio di Calabria railway begins operating.
1896 - Villa comunale Umberto I (it) (park) opens.
1897 - Population: 46,399.

Reggio di Calabria is twinned with:
Greece Patras, Greece
Greece Athens, Greece, since 2003
Greece Egaleo, Greece, since 2004
Italy Cesana Torinese, Italy, since 2006
Italy Montesilvano, Italy, since 2009
Australia Fairfield City, Australia

Source/Photograpy/Bibliography
Παυσανία Ελλάδος περιήγησις/Μεσσηνιακά ἐν τοσούτῳ δὲ Ἀναξίλας παρὰ τοὺς Μεσσηνίους ἀπέστελλεν ἐς Ἰταλίαν καλῶν. ὁ δὲ Ἀναξίλας ἐτυράννει μὲν Ῥηγίου,
Θουκυδίδη ιστορία, Ο Αθηναϊκός στόλος στο Ρήγιο
William Smith, ed. (1872) [1854]. "Rhegium". Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography. London: John Murray.
"Reggio", Handbook for Travellers in Southern Italy (8th ed.), London: J. Murray, 1878
"Reggio". Chambers's Encyclopaedia. London. 1901.
http://reggiocal.it
Umberto Cassuto (1905), "Reggio", Jewish Encyclopedia, 10, New York
"Reggio", Southern Italy and Sicily (15th ed.), Leipzig: Karl Baedeker, 1908
https://en.wikipedia.org
"Reggio Calabria", Encyclopaedia Britannica (11th ed.), New York, 1910, OCLC 14782424
Benjamin Vincent (1910), "Rhegium", Haydn's Dictionary of Dates (25th ed.), London: Ward, Lock & Co.
Roy Domenico (2002). "Calabria: Reggio di Calabria". Regions of Italy: a Reference Guide to History and Culture. Greenwood. pp. 48+. ISBN 0313307334.



7.12.16

Capo Colonna, Italy

Capo Colonna (sometimes Capo Colonne or Capo della Colonne; anciently Promunturium Lacinium) is a cape of Calabria located near Crotone. A name taken from the Greek «Κάβο-Κολώνα»

In ancient times Capo Colonna (Greek :Λακίνιο Άκρο -ακρωτήριο) was the ancient Greek cape of Taranto.



On the cape still stands a single column of the temple erected to Hera Lacinia, which is said to have been fairly complete in the 16th century, but to have been destroyed to build the episcopal palace at Crotone. It is a Doric column with capital, about 27 ft. in height. Remains of marble roof-tiles have been seen on the spot (Livy xlii.3) and architectural fragments were excavated in 1886-1887 by the Archaeological Institute of America. The sculptures found were mostly buried again, but a few fragments, some decorative terra-cottas and a dedicatory inscription to Hera of the 6th century BC, in private possession at Crotone, are described by F. von Duhn in Notizie degli scavi, 1897, 343 seq. The date of the erection of the temple may be given as 480-440 BC; it is not recorded by any ancient writer.

With modern life increasingly dominated by technology, holidays are becoming one of the rare chances to spend time immersed in nature, when we can try to look at the world around us rather than computer screens.

Calabria, with its wild landscapes and panoramic views of the sea, is an ideal place to reestablish a connection with the natural, simple side of life and enjoy the vibrant colours of wild flowers and cacti while listening out to the sounds of insects, birds and animals.

One of the best places to experience the natural beauty of this southern Italian region is at Capo Colonna, a promontory known as Capo Lacinio in antiquity, which is about 13 km south of Crotone in eastern Calabria. This is the site of one of the most important sanctuaries in Magna Graecia, the area of southern Italy populated by Greek settlers from the eighth century.  It was dedicated to the goddess Hera, wife of Zeus and queen of the gods, who was venerated here as the protector of women, as well as a type of Mother Nature, the protector of animals and of sea travel, and a sort of liberator.

Before heading to Capo Colonna, visitors to the area can discover more about its fascinating stories at the Archaeological Museum in Crotone. Excavations begun by the archaeologist Paolo Orsi in 1910 uncovered a treasure trove of gold, silver and bronze votive offerings to the goddess, which provide insight into the people and traditions of the time.

The most outstanding piece is a glistening gold diadem, or tiara, shaped out of a band of gold leaf and decorated with both a braid pattern and foliage garland. It is believed to have undergone two phases of work between the sixth and fifth centuries BC, and likely crowned a representation of Hera within the sanctuary. Interestingly, coins used in Crotone from the fourth century portrayed a crowned head of Hera.


A grand temple to Hera Lacinia stood on the site from around the fifth century BC. From their boats, sailors would have had a view of the eastern side of the temple and its six columns. Unfortunately, it was demolished in the 16th century AD so its materials could be used for the construction of various buildings in Crotone. The sanctuary was further pillaged in the 18th century.

Nowadays all that remains of the temple is one single Doric column, measuring 8.35 metres in height.  Nevertheless, the surrounding land and views of the sea still reflect the sacred nature of this site that may have originally inspired the idea for a sanctuary here.

To this day, the diadem still maintains its golden glow and is quite a treat to stumble upon in the museum.
The gifts left to Hera that were found in the sanctuary also include a set of intriguing bronze ornaments that are sculpted into three female mythological figures: the Siren, the Seated Sphinx, and the Winged Gorgon.
A Siren was one of several sea nymphs in classical mythology, which was part-woman and part-bird. They seduced seamen and lured them to shipwreck. The bronze siren found in the sanctuary of Hera dates to the middle of the sixth century BC.

The Sphinx was a winged monster in mythology, with a woman’s head and a lion’s body. She would kill anyone who was unable to answer her riddle. The Sphinx found here probably once adorned a container such as a cauldron and is dated to around 540 BC.

The Winged Gorgon, which dates to a similar time, is an especially interesting and unique piece. It is running to the left and grinning while sticking its tongue out, a pose associated with this female creature of the underworld.
Among other fascinating offerings left to the goddess, I found a bronze ship linked to the ancient Nuragic civilization of Sardinia, made in the seventh century BC. This ornament, depicting a typical Sardinian ship, portrays two carts drawn by a pair of oxen on both sides, and two doves on flagpoles. It is the first of its kind discovered in southern Italy and highlights the importance of the sanctuary of Hera, to which someone felt compelled to donate such a beautiful and rare gift.
This sculpture of a horse was also found, one of the first discovered in Calabria which resembles the Greek geometric style. Dating to the 7th century BC, it points to close and regular relations between the sanctuary of Hera and other sanctuaries in Greece.
Centres of worship such as the sanctuary of Hera developed on the edges of the settlement of Crotone, one of the most important cities in Magna Graecia, and were considered signs of divine protection. Religious sanctuaries were focal points for local inhabitants and became a meeting place for Greek travellers and indigenous people.

In the near-by museum on the site of Capo Colonna, there are further remains of the temple to see, such as this female head, discovered in 1972, which was probably from a sculpture on its roof.
The natural area around the temple was viewed as a sacred forest, according to several ancient accounts. Since a plan was launched in the 1980s to turn the area into a protected archeological park, a new group of trees have been planted along the road towards the sanctuary. The surroundings are covered in wild poppies and other bright flowers, which create wonderful contrasts with the azure and turquoise waters of the sea.

Here is how Nossis, the ancient Greek poet from Locri (circa 300 BC) described a gift to Hera of a piece of linen woven by her mother, a common custom among noble families of the time:

 “Most reverend Hera, you who often descending from heaven

Behold your Lacinian shrine fragrant with incense,

receive the linen wrap that with her noble child Nossis

Theophilis daughter of Cleocha wove for you.”
And here is how the Roman historian Titus Livius (circa 64 BC-17 AD) described the sanctuary:
“The temple of Hera Lacinia was about six miles away from the city (of Crotone) and was more famous than the town itself, revered by all the people of the neighbourhood. It had an enclosure surrounded by dense forests and tall firs and in the centre, grassland on which all types of animals sacred to the goddess grazed, without any shepherds.  At night each herd would return separately to its own stalls, unharmed by wild beasts or the dishonesty of men. As a result a great deal of money could be made and from the profits a massive golden column was built and consecrated to the goddess. The temple was as famous for its wealth as for its sanctity. Several miracles are told that are comparable to the fame of the site: it was noted that the altar is in the entrance court and its ashes are never stirred by the wind.”


Source/Photo/Bibliography

Koldewey and O. Puchstein, Die griechischen Tempel in Unteritalien und Sicilien (Berlin 1899, 41).
Chisholm, Hugh, ed. (1911). "Lacinium, Promunturium". 
Encyclopædia Britannica (11th ed.). Cambridge University Press.

2.7.16

Segesta theatre

The Greek theatre of Segesta


The theatre in Segesta dates back probably to the 4th-3rd century BC, and was located in one of the best areas of the town. Built of large masses of stone (without cement and lime), the theatre was quite isolated and of a semi-circular shape, with part of the stage facing west. The “cavea” is contained in a semicircle of about 60 feet diameter.

Elevation géométrale du Théâtre de Segeste. Plan du Théâtre de Segeste. 1782

The theatre stage, of which few traces remain, was originally decorated with columns and pillars.


Several doubts have emerged concerning the date of construction of Segesta Theatre, but the original construction of the “cavea” is thought to date from the late 4th century BC:

"A chronology of the original ‘cavea’ as dating from the second half of the fourth century BC is credible, but we can not exclude some restructuring and functional adaptation. The current shape of the seats suggests the II-I century BC, but we cannot reasonably deny the possibility that these have been replaced."

(M.L. De Bernardi, “Analisi delle anomalie architettoniche dell’attuale ‘cavea’ del Teatro di Segesta” in “Terze Giornate internazionali di studi sull’area elima”, Proceedings, I, 2000: 386).


Ancient Hellas: New banner

Ancient Hellas: New banner

Δημοφιλείς αναρτήσεις